Sports Awards Shortlists Announced

The nominees for the 2020 Isle of Man Sports Awards have been revealed with names from on and off island making up the shortlists.

The annual celebration will see the island’s top athletes, teams and coaches recognised in front of sports fans at the Villa Marina in Douglas on March 25 , with 11 awards up for grabs. 

To reflect the exceptional challenges faced in 2020, the event will also shine a light on the unsung heroes who worked tirelessly, despite the global pandemic, to keep sports on track. As ever, the highlight of the night will be the crowning of the island’s sportsman and sportswoman of the year– with seven stars shortlisted in both categories.

The full list of nominees are: 

 Sportswoman of the Year

  • Charlotte Atkinson (swimming)

  • Sinead Cox (equestrian)

  • Kim Dean (para-weight lifting)

  • Rachael Franklin (athletics)

  • Lizzie Holden (cycling)

  • Yasmin Ingham (equestrian)

Sportsman of the Year

  • Sam Brand (cycling)

  • Niall Cummins (football)

  • Tom Gandy (golf)

  • Ollie Lockley (athletics)

  • Jamie McCanney (enduro)

  • Christian Varley (athletics)

 Under 21 Sportswoman of the Year

  • Sinead Cox (equestrian)

  • Rebecca Cooke (netball)

  • Sienna Dunn (hockey)

  • Mia Dunwell (race walking)

  • Emma Hodgson (swimming)

  • Amelia Sharpe (cycling) 

Under 21 Sportsman of the Year

  • Will Draper (triathlon)

  • Jed Etchells (enduro)

  • Tyler Hannay (cycling)

  • Adam Long (football)

  • Bevan Rodd (rugby)

  • Ben Sinclair (athletics)

  • Max Walker (cycling)

Disability Sportsperson of the Year 

  • Chloe Chadwick (equestrian)

  • Kim Dean (para-weight lifting)

  • Ben Grainger (swimming)

  • Sean Jackson (football)

  • Erika Kelly (race walking)

  • Harry Lee (swimming)

Sports Team of the Year

  • FC Isle of Man Football Team

  • IOM Hockey Under 18 Boys Team

  • IOM Cricket Under 15 Team

  • IOM Netball Under 17 Team

  • Manx Harriers Senior Women’s Cross Country Team

Sports Administrator of the Year 

  • Petra Atchison (athletics)

  • Janelle Clarke (cricket)

  • Pip Cross (netball)

  • Mo Kelly (athletics)

  • Paul Jones (football)

  • Sarah Webster (athletics)

IOM Sports Ambassador

  • Sam Brand

  • Tom Gandy

  • Christian Varley 

Sports Coach of the Year 

  • Andy Fox (athletics)

  • Dave Lockley (athletics)

  • John Whitlow (athletics)

  • Emma Williams (netball)

  • Tom Wilson (hockey)

Veteran Sportsperson of the Year 

  • Adrian Beale (cycling)

  • Gianni Epifani (cycling & race walking)

  • Andy Fox (athletics)

  • Moira Hall (athletics)

  • Carol Laporte (swimming)

  • Sarah Webster (athletics)

Dr Alex Allinson MHK, Minister for Education, Sport and Culture said: ‘I am delighted that the Sports Awards can welcome back fans and honour some great sporting achievements, whilst also recognising all those behind the scenes who have enabled the outstanding efforts in 2020.’

The event is sponsored by Microgaming Play It Forward.