After Health Minister David Ashford confirmed Dr Rachel Glover’s appointment to the gov’s Emergency Advisory Board, the full list of members has been released on the supplementary Tynwald order paper.

Tynwald agreed to the creation of the EAG in order to ‘provide external advice, insight and perspective to the Council of Ministers and ultimately Tynwald in an informed, professional, balanced and timely manner in responding to ‘emergency’ situations (i.e. the Covid-19 pandemic)’.

Joining Dr Glover will be Live at Home CEO Jacqueline Bridson, Steven Christian, Peter Davidson, Professor Peter Edge from Oxford Brookes University, Julie Hotchkiss, John Spellman, and Jonathan Wild. Rob Mercer MLC would serve as the Tynwald representative to the EAG.

The terms of reference for the AEG, which can be found here, adds: ‘Council of Ministers will normally consider the recommendations and evidence that the group provides before adopting new policies and interventions during an emergency in a timely manner. However, the responsibility for new policies and interventions rests with the Council of Ministers, who hold executive responsibility, cognisant of the provision of such informed advice as might be considered appropriate.’

Tynwald will be asked to confirm the members to the Group at this week’s sitting. 

Leave a Reply