Much like Christmas it has been and gone, and much like Christmas the election left some happy and some wishing for more.

Here’s our quick run down of what went down and what is coming next.

Arbory, Castletown and Malew

The constituency with the longest name saw Jason Moorhouse returned and Tim Glover elected for the first time.

Ayre and Michael

Alf Cannan survived the curse of prospective Chief Ministers to top the poll while President of the Farmers’ Union Tim Johnston beat incumbent DoI Minister Tim Baker into second.

Douglas Central

As you were.

Douglas East

One of the most hotly contended constituencies saw two women elected as Manx Labour Party leader Joney Faragher topped the poll with Clare Barber being voted in for another five years.

Douglas North

Health Minister David Ashford romped home here with more than double the votes of second placed John Wannenburgh who dislodged Ralph Peake as the constituency’s second MHK.

Douglas South

Another interesting election as two recently elected MHKs in Claire Christian and Paul Quine, who had been in the job for little over a year, faced re-election. In the end it was MLP member Sarah Maltby who topped the poll with Mrs Christian just two votes behind her as Captain Quine found himself on the descent.


Daphne Caine topped the poll joined by the man she narrowly beat in 2016 Andrew Smith.

Glenfaba & Peel

Two ministers removed, one former brought back as Tim Crookall placed second behind Kate Lord-Brennan in claiming the two seats.


Jane Poole-Wilson joined Mrs Lord-Brennan in moving from LegCo to Keys and finds herself stuck in the Middle with Stu as radio presenter Stu Peters sees if he can be as good inside the tent as he was outside.


As you were.


As you were as Lib Vannin leader Lawrie Hooper and Dr Alex Allinson, who again failed in his bid to keep the pub open for after the results came in.


Five years as Speaker and a bid to be President didn’t stop Juan Watterson topping the poll as he got the highest number of votes on the island. He is joined by Dr Michelle Haywood.

What Comes Next?

On Tuesday MHKs get sworn in and then the horse trading begins as candidates for Chief Minister step forward.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.