The Manx Labour Party held its AGM this past weekend, which saw a reshuffle of its top team.

While not affiliated to the UK Labour Party, the MLP says it shares the same values. It currently has two MHKs, Joney Faragher and Sarah Maltby, as well as members on local authorities.

The AGM saw talks on a range of topics, including struggles faced by teachers and nurses, autism and neuroscientists, language learning within immigrant communities, the costs of poverty, housing, and a speech from the MHKs and party leaders.

Following this, the party re-elected Douglas East MHK Joney Faragher as leader, with Douglas South MHK Sarah Maltby serving as her deputy. Mrs Maltby’s role as chair of the party has been taken over by Sam Hamer, with Douglas Councillor Peter Washington serving as deputy chair.

Other appointments include Councillor Devon Watson serving as media officer, Onchan Commissioner Fenella Logan serving as Policy Officer and acting secretary, Ciara Sowerby was appointed Environmental Officer and Hazel Faragher was appointed Treasurer.

Founded in 1918, the Manx Labour Party is the island’s oldest political party, you find out more about it here.